• DFI Europe
  • DFI India
  • DFI

Legends Award

The DFI and the DFI Educational Trust established the DFI Legends Award to honor three practitioners – an engineer, contractor and manufacturer/supplier – that have made significant contributions and advancements to the research, design, construction, manufacturing and use of deep foundations.

The following criteria are considered by the committee in selecting the recipients:

  • Impact, value and sustainability (contributions they made are still pivotal to the technological advancements we have today) of achievements
  • Legacy
  • Pioneering contributions
  • Exceptional industry leader; visionary, mentor
  • Technological ingenuity, innovation and/or application of advancements of design, construction or equipment
  • Steadfast professionalism, character and integrity
  • Ingenuity of design and construction techniques
  • Broad impact on industry
2023 Legends recipients: Bjorn Ischebeck for his father, Ernst; Samuel Clemence; Seth Pearlman for Pete Nicholson.

DFI Legends Award Honorees

Engineering LegendSamuel Clemence, P.E.Professor Emeritus at Syracuse University
Contractor LegendPete NicholsonConsultant
Manufacturer/Supplier LegendErnst Friedrich Ischebeck (posthumously)Former president and owner of Friedr. Ischebeck GmbH
Engineering LegendDr. Bengt H. FelleniusFormer professor of Civil Engineering, University of Ottawa
Contractor LegendThomas J. Wysockey (posthumously)Chairman emeritus, Thatcher Foundations 
Manufacturer/Supplier Legend Thomas BauerPast chairman of the supervisory board, BAUER Group
Engineering LegendGeorge J. Tamaro, P.E.Consultant, Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers
Contractor LegendCharles J. Berkel (posthumously)Past chairman of the board of Berkel & Company Contractors, Inc.
Manufacturer/Supplier LegendDavide TrevisaniPresident and founder of TREVI Group

Read more about the 2023 Legends Award Honorees.

Read more about the 2019 Legends Award Honorees.

Read more about the 2015 Legends Award Honorees.