• DFI Europe
  • DFI India
  • DFI

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is comprised of volunteer trustees with chair, vice chair, secretary and treasurer officer positions. Five core board members serve five-year terms and up to eight at-large trustees serve two-year terms. In addition, the president and treasurer of DFI serve as members of the Trust board during their terms at DFI. Emeritus and honorary trustees may be appointed as non-voting members of the board.

As part of their commitment to the Trust and its mission, all board members actively participate in fundraising by organizing events, spearheading annual drives, and leading other such efforts. In addition, all board members make personal financial contributions to the Trust.

Chair, Board of Trustees

Managing Principal, LANGAN

Rudy Frizzi’s geotechnical engineering and project management experience is extensive, with particular emphasis on foundation design and construction in urban areas, and large-scale land and waterfront public and private development projects throughout the United States and internationally.

During his over 35 years in the industry, Frizzi has interacted on projects located in practically every continent world–wide, and has performed geotechnical investigations and designs, prepared plans and technical specifications, and observed field testing and construction as geotechnical “engineer of record” on countless projects. 

In addition to his “engineer of record” experience, Frizzi has provided expert geotechnical consultation and trial testimony on over 100 excavation and foundation litigation cases throughout the United States and internationally. He has also prepared and presented over 50 technical presentations at universities, conferences, and seminars throughout the United States and internationally on a variety of issues, including land development engineering, foundation design, and construction.

Current Members

Zoran Curanovic, P.E.
Vice Chair
James Johnson
Helen Robinson, P.E.
Chair:Rudolph Frizzi, P.E., G.E., D.GELangan Engineering and Environmental Services
Vice Chair:Zoran Curanovic, P.E.Underpinning & Foundation Skanska, Inc.
Treasurer:James JohnsonCondon-Johnson and Associates, Inc.
Secretary:Helen Robinson, P.E.GEI Consultants
 Trustees:Tracy Brettmann, P.E., D.GEA.H Beck Foundation Co., Inc.
 Bernard Hertlein, FACI, M.ASCEGEI Constultants
 Jonathan HuffRichard Goettle, Inc.
 Seth Pearlman, P.E., D.GEMenard USA
 Mark J. Rice, Esq.McNeil, Silveira, Rice & Wiley
 Thomas Richards, P.E., D.GENicholson Construction Company
Thad TobabenKiewit Engineering Group, Inc.
 Andrew C. VerityTerracon Consultants
 Michael H. Wysockey, Ph.D., P.E.Thatcher Foundations, Inc.
Emeritus Trustees: David B. ColemanUnderpinning & Foundation Skanska, Inc.
Dan DragoneBauer Equipment America
 Richard Short, P.E., D.GEConsulting Geotechnical Enginee
M. Byrl Williams, P.E.Foundation Constructors, Inc.